Main dishes, With a touch of yumminess

Shepherd’s Pie

So I finally got around to making my shepherd’s pie minus the Guinness beerThe first time I try a recipe I usually follow all the steps and use all the ingredients listed. If I end up making it again then I play around with the recipe and add my own twist to it. Sometimes I try different versions of the same recipe and take a little bit from each one to create my own unique dish. This shepherd’s pie is my own creation or what I like to say “with my own little touch of yumminess”. The next time I make shepherd’s pie I want try a vegetarian version.

I like to mix some peas and carrots with my meat to give it some flavor. Depending what I have on hand I will use creamed corn or a can of creamed corn and regular corn. For the final touch I top the mashed potatoes with some shredded cheddar cheese the final 10 minutes or so. Once the cheese has melted I broil it for a couple of minutes.


I use:

  • about 500g ( 1lb) of ground beef or turkey
  • 4-5 boiled, then mashed with a little bit of butter and milk
  • 1 can of creamed corn
  • 1 can of peas and carrots or 1 cup of frozen peas and carrots (if I am using frozen peas and carrots I heat them up first)
  • 1/2 cup more or less shredded cheddar cheese (I have also used tried Monterey Jack)
  1. Preheat oven 350ºF
  2. Brown your meat and make sure to drain out all the fat. Mix in the peas and carrots.
  3. Prepare your mashed potatoes.
  4. Put the meat mixture into an 8×8 glass baking dish. Spread the creamed corn over the meat mixture. Finally spread the mashed potatoes over the corn.
  5. Bake for about 30 minutes. Add cheese around the 20 minute mark. Once all the cheese is all melted I like to broil the cheese but you don’t have to.
  6. Enjoy!!!

I have friend’s who like to eat their shepherd’s pie with ketchup, which I would highly recommend you try at least once! So that is my shepherd’s pie.

Standard

Leave a Reply

